(Habit) In a second…

“In a second” was an overused phrase
I’d hear from daughter many times in a day
Whatever the question and for every demand
“yeh, in a second” replied to every command.

“Yeh in a second” meant maybe in an hour
while she’d finish with facebook or an internet scour
And if she said “in a minute” she’d mean half-a-day
while she dillied and dallied, whatever I’d say.

I hope it’s a habit she’s since learnt to break
now she’s a student with studies to take;
it’s a phrase I miss hearing since the day she left home
-but broke my habit of nagging, now living alone.

(c)2015, stu06bloc9

Written in response to weekly poetry challenge at http://maraeastern.com/2015/03/02/poetry-101-rehab-habit/ (a new prompt every Monday)

2 thoughts on “(Habit) In a second…

  1. Makes me think on how people always realize what things really mean to them when they start to miss them.

    Hope you and your daughter are keeping a lot of contact. Have a nice weekend!

    Like

Leave a comment